London travel arrangements

Got anything to say that's not about the Tube? Say it here!
GuyBarry
The Twilight Zone

London travel arrangements

Post by GuyBarry »

I rarely visit London, but the opportunity has arisen to visit with a fellow transport enthusiast so I'm planning to travel some time next month. We're booking tickets on the South West Trains route from Bath to Waterloo, so the tentative schedule is:

Tube, bus or (if we're feeling enthusiastic) walk from Waterloo to King’s Cross
Tour of King’s Cross development
Bullet train from St Pancras to Stratford International
DLR from Stratford International to Royal Victoria
Emirates Air Line to North Greenwich
Thames Clipper from North Greenwich to the London Eye, then walk back to Waterloo

What's the cheapest way of doing this? On previous occasions I've bought a one-day travelcard, but it's specifically forbidden on the bullet train and I don't think I can use it on the cable car or the boat. I have no experience of Oyster whatsoever.
Undefeated Tumbleweed champion, Oct 2015

Inventor of Grumbleweed, Nimbleweed, Timesnap, Postsnap and several other silly games
The Orange One
All Zones

Re: London travel arrangements

Post by The Orange One »

I went and looked up the fares, since there is one way to settle this.

Discard the HS1 ride as you can only buy tickets through cold hard cash (well, also through credit/debit cards), no Oyster or travelcards permitted.

Waterloo to King's Cross
Tube fare: £2.30 with Oyster, £4.80 by cash (suggest going Bakerloo/Victoria via Oxford Circus)
Bus fare: £1.50 with Oyster (59 bus route)
Walk fare: £0.00 with or without Oyster. Suggested walking route is Hungerford Bridge across Thames to Charing Cross, St. Martin's Lane, Long Acre, Great Queen Street, Newton Street, Southampton Place, Bloomsbury Square Gardens, Bedford Place, through Russell Square to Brunswick Centre, Judd Street which hits St. Pancras Internationale pretty much dead on.

S'ford Int'l to Royal Victoria