Ancient history

Let us know about your latest FULL NETWORK CHALLENGE efforts
Wombat
Zone 1

Ancient history

Post by Wombat »

Hi folks,
I have just joined your illustrious grouping and am fascinated to find such mad things are still happening.
My one and only attempt (which was a completion of 273 stations) was back in 1965. We did beat the then record, but use of a taxi (done in innocence without knowing formal rules and to get us out of a hole) downgraded our status to non-public transport. We completed in 18hrs 30min and got coverage in both Kentish Times and Bucks Free Press.
I have oft heard that once something is on the net, it's nigh on impossible to get it changed, but I seek you guys' assistance having recently discovered that there is information out there relating to our ancient excursion into the territory which excites and concerns you all.
I am new to the concept of a forum and note that the protocol requires anonimity and use of pseudonyms. This makes it difficult for me to precisely outline my concern, but I have found both geofftech's website and tubeguru attribute our attempt to a member of our group who gave up 5 hours before completion. As the person who planned and researched the attempt and brought the group together, you may imagine that I am not best pleased.
I have been in touch with geofftech and I now see that he is also a member of this forum. However, my e-mails to tubeguru@tubechallenge have bounced back. As you clearly do still exist, can anyone tell me who I should contact to try and get the record of our trip on the tubeguru website changed?
Also, is anyone aware of any other site which may contain the misinformation which I seek to correct?
Thanks in anticipation,
Wombat.
tubeguru
Site Administrator

Re: Ancient history

Post by tubeguru »

Hi!

Yeah, the email thing needs fixing. Thanks for reminding me that they bounce back though - I really need to sort that out.