1st attempt Wed 18th November

Let us know about your latest FULL NETWORK CHALLENGE efforts
adc82140
Zone 1

1st attempt Wed 18th November

Post by adc82140 »

Hi!!

I'm a newbie to the world of tube challenging, and made a first attempt last Wednesday. There wasn't a formal attempt to break the record (no independent stopwatch or anything), it was done as a bit of fun for charity.

There were two of us, starting at Chesham and attempting to finish at Heathrow. However the day was plagued with delays.

It didn't start well- the Met line was a bit sluggish, and connections were missed, sometimes by seconds. We also had a 15 minute delay of our own making- my friend's map reading skills were a bit iffy, and we ended up lost on the streets of Harrow.

After that the day went from bad to worse- a fatality at Earl's Court, another one near Harrow & Wealdstone, signal problems all day on the District, and to cap it all a tent on the line at Upminster Bridge, causing us to sit on a train for an hour while the traction current was turned off!!

There were little annoyances as well- I pulled a muscle running up the spiral staircase at Regents Park, my Oyster Card gave up the ghost on a bus and my friend got his rucksack caught in the door of a Northern Line train.

In the end, we admitted defeat at Morden at 9:30pm, and made it back to overnight accomodation in Westbourne Park at 10:30. In total 194 stations covered.

But we're now addicted- we think our route, with a few minor alterations (Chesham is not a good start point) is a potential record breaker. We also have now have the benefit of having done a lot of the route before, so can go immediately to the correct bus stop etc.

Another attempt is planned for the beginning of next year.
palkanetoijala31

Re: 1st attempt Wed 18th November

Post by palkanetoijala31 »

adc82140 wrote:Hi!!