Could one train travel the entire tube network?

Discuss the full Tube Challenge here
Post Reply
User avatar
hopeful traveller
All Zones
Posts: 1285
Joined: 15 Jul 2011, 15:28
Location: West Harrow, Grid square B2, Zone 5, Metropolitan Line

Could one train travel the entire tube network?

Post by hopeful traveller » 13 Oct 2018, 20:09

I’ve had a bit of thought about this and I think there’s only one thing preventing this, W&C aside

Take a 1973 stock Piccadilly line train. It can obviously do the whole Piccadilly line. It can also do the entire Met Line thanks to the Rayners Lane points. Therefore, it can also do the Circle and H&C lines, and also the District Line. Using the crossovers at Finsbury Park it could also do the Victoria line. On the Met, it can cross to the Jubilee line and do all of that line as well, and at Baker Street it can cross over onto the Bakerloo line and do that too.

That only leaves the Central and Northern line. I believe there’s a District / Central crossover at Ealing Broadway, but how would it travel on the Northern Line?
1 FNC Completion (PB: 17:18:18 with G Bryant, A Chilcraft, I MacNaughton)
4 Zone Ones (PB: 03:00:35 with G Bryant)
15 R15s (PB: 01:55:48 with T Cooling and R Jackson)
11 All Lines (PB: 00:44:03)
Winner of the 2014 Formula 1 Side Competition

User avatar
Iain
All Zones
Posts: 1657
Joined: 11 Nov 2011, 11:26
Location: Sutton

Re: Could one train travel the entire tube network?

Post by Iain » 13 Oct 2018, 20:52

I can't see a crossover at Ealing on here

http://carto.metro.free.fr/cartes/metro-tram-london/

but a District coming up to Gunnersbury could it seems go onto the Overground and then it looks like there's a way to switch to the Northern between Gospel Oak and Tufnell Park. I've no idea about power etc though
Full Network: Three completions, Best time: 17:18:18 - thanks Glen, Andrew and Rhys!
Former DLR 45 station record holder (with Glen, Andi and Stevo) - 2h:08m:57s
All lines: 46:11 (6th equal)
Zone One 2:52:51 (thanks Glen)

RJSRdg
Zone 6
Posts: 738
Joined: 16 Mar 2015, 00:35

Re: Could one train travel the entire tube network?

Post by RJSRdg » 13 Oct 2018, 21:50

There's a connection from the Picc/Met to the Central through Ruislip depot.

Who's going to be the first tube driver member of this forum to attempt it? I hope they remember not to use sub-Surface stock ;-)
Currently 4th place in the Bottle Challenge league table
Currently 3rd place Zone1/Zone 2 Challenge

User avatar
greatkingrat
All Zones
Posts: 2434
Joined: 11 Feb 2005, 00:35

Re: Could one train travel the entire tube network?

Post by greatkingrat » 13 Oct 2018, 22:15

There has never been a connection to the Northern line at Tufnell Park, it would be a very steep gradient if it existed! There used to be a connection from the Goblin to Kentish Town NR which I think is what you are looking at.

However there is a connection between Northern and Piccadilly at King's Cross (the Kings Cross Loop), so one train could theoretically travel the whole network (except the W&C).
Soon to be yet another forum train driver

michael_churchill
Zone 5
Posts: 567
Joined: 26 Nov 2015, 16:30
Location: Southampton
Contact:

Re: Could one train travel the entire tube network?

Post by michael_churchill » 15 Oct 2018, 08:50

I would recommend "Clive's UndergrounD Line Guides" , click on a line you're interested in and find the "Connections" section.

For the Central line,it says
There used to be a connection between the eastbound Central Line and the District Line platforms at Ealing Broadway, and one to the adjacent National Rail lines at Leyton. Both of these have been lifted.

dstock17
Zone 4
Posts: 319
Joined: 14 Jan 2017, 20:08

Re: Could one train travel the entire tube network?

Post by dstock17 » 15 Oct 2018, 18:06

Now there's a name I haven't heard for a long time

User avatar
tractakid
The Twilight Zone
Posts: 3215
Joined: 15 Nov 2011, 20:04
Location: Milton Keynes

Re: Could one train travel the entire tube network?

Post by tractakid » 16 Oct 2018, 13:18

You can also link the Tube to the entire National Rail network, which is all interlinked. Waterloo & City excepting. I believe a LU battery loco could go everywhere with enough charge.
*insert boasting about notable tube accomplishments here*

User avatar
greatkingrat
All Zones
Posts: 2434
Joined: 11 Feb 2005, 00:35

Re: Could one train travel the entire tube network?

Post by greatkingrat » 16 Oct 2018, 13:58

It might struggle to reach the Island Line though!
Soon to be yet another forum train driver

michael_churchill
Zone 5
Posts: 567
Joined: 26 Nov 2015, 16:30
Location: Southampton
Contact:

Re: Could one train travel the entire tube network?

Post by michael_churchill » 16 Oct 2018, 15:56

greatkingrat wrote:
16 Oct 2018, 13:58
It might struggle to reach the Island Line though!
They already have their own tube trains.

RJSRdg
Zone 6
Posts: 738
Joined: 16 Mar 2015, 00:35

Re: Could one train travel the entire tube network?

Post by RJSRdg » 16 Oct 2018, 22:32

greatkingrat wrote:
16 Oct 2018, 13:58
It might struggle to reach the Island Line though!
Or Alderney!
Currently 4th place in the Bottle Challenge league table
Currently 3rd place Zone1/Zone 2 Challenge

User avatar
The Raven
All Zones
Posts: 2617
Joined: 05 Jun 2006, 22:49
Location: Perched on a branch
Contact:

Re: Could one train travel the entire tube network?

Post by The Raven » 07 Dec 2018, 21:42

Would it be possible to "hire" a train or two and do the whole network on Christmas Day! Lol

Would require a lot of backtracking!
Go Pack Go!

Post Reply