An Attempt

Discuss the full Tube Challenge here
leamfarrar
Zone 3

An Attempt

Post by leamfarrar »

As I'm a school teacher, I've got a week break coming up in mid-Feb and I was thinking of heading to London and taking an attempt at the whole network for my own self. It has been a bucket list moment of mine, and I'm more doing it for myself rather than a record attempt, but there has been a few things that have been holding me back on the attempt, none moreso than the time but also a few other things. They do limit me back in Sydney with the All-Stations Challenge that the group I'm part of have... so I know that it is a little multiplied here because of the depths, but I'll outline them
  • I have a mild case of escalaphobia (fear of escalators). Now, I can travel on escalators as long as I can see the top (or bottom), but stations like Angel would render me stuck at the bottom, or finding another station... so I would have to either plan around that, or plan changes at stations that have stairs between platforms. I've visited London twice now since arriving and I've been using the stairs where I can, using the awesome Station Master app that I have on my devices.
  • I would need to find somewhere to stay the night before and also the night I finish the challenge as I currently live 3 hours east of London, and the last train out is at around 9pm
  • I have an Oyster Card, but reading some of the other threads, would it be easier and cheaper to get some sort of other ticket?