First timer August 2014 - some advice please!

Discuss the full Tube Challenge here
FlyingScot
Zone 1

First timer August 2014 - some advice please!

Post by FlyingScot »

Hi folks,

Newbie here determined to do the Tube Challenge either on the 14th or 15th August so there’s at least some hope of doing the full 270…if Olympia behaves itself!

I’ve got a few questions which I hope some of you lovely peeps can offer sage advice or opinions on.

Background:-
I’m starting at Amersham and finishing Heathrow. For simplicity as a newbie I’m going to do the ‘Labyrinth route’ as posted on YouTube.
I’m a bit overweight and my jogging days are over although I’m a brisk walker and could manage a wee burst of energy to make some connecting trains if I had to. Needless to say, I’m not going for the GWR haha! I just want to be able to say I completed the Challenge.

As I really want to bag all stations, the thing that’s nagging me is the dreaded Olympia. (Is this as bad as saying the dreaded ‘Scottish play’ Ma*b**th to an actor ?!) Part of me wants to immediately race into town and bag it so once it’s done it really is ‘Game On’ for the rest of the day. How frequent / reliable is the Earl’s Court - Olympia service during the Beer Festival ? Can I reasonably expect it to be okay so if I approach it at any given time during the day or early evening there’s a decent chance I’ll get a train? I think I’ll be fretting all day until I get Olympia done.

Also, what happens if things really start going pear-shaped - signal failures affecting parts of the network, other incidents etc…. ? What’s the best advice for when it happens? Does the whole plan get thrown out of the window? Does everyone just completely ‘wing it’ and make the rest up as they go along? Any advice welcome!

Finally, is it recommended to get the very first train from Amersham or is it best to wait for a couple to go before, almost like to get the network ‘warmed up’ a little, so to speak?